Out-of-State Adjuster Authorization Program
Generally, self-insured employers and insurance carriers that have or are underwriting workers’ compensation policies in Arizona are required to process and pay workers’ compensation claims in an Arizona claims office. See Arizona Administrative Code (“A.A.C.”) R20-5-130(A). Under R20-5-130(B), however, carriers and self-insured employers may request authorization from the Industrial Commission of Arizona (“ICA”) to maintain an out-of-state claims office. Authorization is conditioned upon satisfactory evidence of the following:
- Existence of a toll-free telephone line to the out-of-state claims office;
- Completion of ICA Claims Division training by individuals responsible for claims processing at the out-of-state office; and
- Designation of a financial institution located in Arizona that will cash on demand checks issued by the out-of-state claims office.
Adjusters who handle claims in an out-of-state office must obtain authorization from the ICA by participating in or attending designated training programs offered by the ICA and successfully passing a post-test. Training may be completed by attending the ICA’s annual Claims Seminar or by participation in an internet-based training program. Authorization must be renewed every two years.
NOTE: Out-of-state adjusters who received extensions of a prior authorization from the ICA or who participated in an alternative training program are required to renew their training on or before April 16, 2019. If 2017/2018 reference materials were purchased as part an alternative training program, please indicate this when enrolling in the live webinar Q&A portion of the training program. Participants who participated in an alternative training program who purchased 2017/2018 reference materials will not be required to purchase updated reference materials unless the Claims Division is unable to verify prior purchase.
ANNUAL CLAIMS SEMINAR
internet-based TRAINING PROGRAM
How to Enroll/Attend:
Step 1: Purchase Reference Materials:
Participants must purchase the current ICA Claims Seminar Manual, Laws and Rules, and become familiar with the content of these publications. Please contact the ICA’s front desk to order the publications by telephone at (602)-542-6732 or by e-mail at [email protected]. The cost for the reference materials is $50.00 and shipping & handling is a flat fee of $13.65, for a total of $63.65. Each adjuster must purchase an individual set of reference materials. 2019 reference materials will be available in August 2019. Adjusters who intend to complete training in or after August 2019 will be required to purchase 2019 reference materials.
Step 2: View Training Webinars:
Pre-recorded webinars are available on Arizona workers’ compensation topics that are contained in the ICA Claims Seminar Manual. Please visit the ICA YouTube Channel for the full playlist.
Step 3: Register and Participate in Live Webinar Q&A:
Upon completion of the training webinars, participants will be required to attend a live webinar Q&A with a representative of the ICA Claims Division. See live Q&A webinar registration information below. The Q&A sessions provide an opportunity for participants to ask questions in advance of the post-test. After attending a Q&A webinar session, the ICA will verify that reference materials were purchased and eligible participants will receive a link by e-mail to the post-test. The Claims Division will be offering live Q&A webinar sessions monthly, except in August. The ICA encourages attendance at the ICA Annual Claims Seminar in August.
Step 4: Successfully Complete a Post-Test:
To receive Out -of-State certification, a participant must successfully pass a post-test, demonstrating adequate knowledge of Arizona’s workers’ compensation claims handling processes. The post-test is composed of a randomized set of questions based on content included in the Claims Seminar Manual, training webinars, and applicable law. Participants who do not achieve a passing score of at least 80% will have the option of attending another live Q&A webinar session and re-taking the test.
Step 5: Issuance of Certificate of Authorization:
Upon successful completion of the internet-based training program and post-test, participants will receive a written certificate of authorization from the ICA to manage Arizona claims out of state. The authorization will be good for two years before it must be renewed.
To enroll in a live Q&A webinar, please register by clicking on the link “Sign Up Here” which is listed below. Anyone in the Arizona workers’ compensation community is welcome to attend the Q&A webinars, but enrollment in a Q&A webinar is required to register for the post-test.
Please note, the dates listed below are not for signing up for the Webinar(s). This area is for joining the meeting on the date specified.
Additionally, the ICA uses G Suite. The transition to G Suite may require participants to have a Google Account.
Before the Webinar and in completing forms, please confirm with your IT department that you are able to:
- Achieve connectivity to our resources such as Google Forms and Google Meet.
- Install or use Google Chrome as it is the preferred browser for the G Suite products
If you experience problems after the above steps have been followed, feel free to contact the Commission at the number toward the bottom of this page.
Thursday, January 16, 2020-10:00 AM (MST).
Post-test will be made available on January 17, 2020, and will remain available until close of business January 20, 2020.
Thursday, February 20, 2020⋅10:00 AM (MST)
Post-test will be made available on February 21, 2020, and will remain available until close of business on February 24, 2020.
Thursday, March 19, 2020-10:00 AM (MST)
Post-test will be made available on March 20, 2020, and will remain available until close of business on March 24, 2020.
Thursday, April 16, 2020⋅10:00 AM (MST)
Post-test will be made available on April 17, 2020, and will remain available until close of business on April 21, 2020.
Thursday, May 21, 2020-10:00 AM (MST)
Post-test will be made available on May 22 2020, and will remain available until close of business on May 26, 2020.
Thursday, June 18, 2020⋅10:00 AM (MST)
Post-test will be made available on June 19, 2020, and will remain available until close of business on June 23, 2020.
Thursday, October 15, 2020⋅10:00 AM (MST)
Post-test will be made available October 16, 2020, and will remain available until close of business on October 20, 2020.
Thursday, November 19, 2020⋅10:00 AM (MST)
Post-test will be made available November 20, 2020, and will remain available until close of business on November 24, 2020.
Thursday, December 17, 2020⋅10:00 AM (MST)
Post-test will be made available December 18, 2020, and will remain available until close of business on December 22, 2020.
Sign Up Here
Please contact the ICA’s Assistant Claims Manager at (602)-542-6691 for further information.