ARIZONA MINIMUM WAGE ACT

Effective January 1, 2016

$805 per hour

EXEMPTIONS:

TIPS:

RETALIATION
PROHIBITED:

ENFORCEMENT:

The Arizona Minimum Wage Act does not apply to the following: Any person
who is employed by a parent or a sibling; Any person who is employed
performing babysitting services in the employer’s home on a casual basis; Any
person employed by the State of Arizona or the United States government and;
Any person employed in a small business grossing less than $500,000 in annual
revenue, if that small business is not covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards
Act.

For any employee who customarily and regularly receives tips or gratuities, an
employer may pay a wage up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage if the
employer can establish by its records that for each week, when adding tips
received to wages paid, the employee received not less than the minimum wage
for all hours worked. Certain other conditions must be met.

An employer is prohibited from taking any action against any person
in retaliation for asserting a right(s) or assisting any person in doing so, or
informing any person of rights under the Arizona Minimum Wage Act.

Any person or organization may file a complaint with the Industrial
Commission’s Labor Department alleging that an employer has violated the
Arizona Minimum Wage Act. Certain time limits apply. A civil action may also
be filed as provided in the Act. Violations of the Minimum Wage Act may result
in significant penalties.

INFORMATION: For additional information regarding the Arizona Minimum Wage Act you may
refer to the Industrial Commission’s website at www.azica.gov or you may contact the Industrial
Commission’s Labor Department at 800 W. Washington, Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2022 or by telephone

at (602) 542-4515.
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