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ARTICLE 12. ARIZONA MINIMUM WAGE AND 
EARNED PAID SICK TIME PRACTICE AND 

PROCEDURE

R20-5-1201. Notice of Rules
A. This Article applies to all actions and proceedings before the

Industrial Commission of Arizona arising under A.R.S. Title
23, Articles 8 and 8.1.

B. The Industrial Commission of Arizona shall provide a copy of
this Article upon request to any person free of charge.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1202. Definitions
In this Article, the definitions of A.R.S. §§ 23-362 (version two),
23-371, and 23-364 apply. In addition, unless the context otherwise
requires, the following definitions shall apply to both the Act and
this Article:

1. “Act” means A.R.S. Title 23, Chapter 2, Articles 8 and
8.1.

2. “Affected employee” means an employee or employees
on whose behalf a complaint may be filed alleging a vio-
lation under the Act.

3. “Amount of earned paid sick time available to the
employee” means the amount of earned paid sick time or
equivalent paid time off that is available to the employee
for use in the current year.

4. “Amount of earned paid sick time taken by the employee
to date in the year” means the amount of earned paid sick
time or equivalent paid time off taken by the employee to

date in the current year. Where an employee has used
available equivalent paid time off for either the purposes
enumerated in A.R.S. § 23-373 or other purposes, the
employer may count that usage towards the “amount of
earned paid sick time taken by the employee to date in the
year.”

5. “Amount of pay the employee has received as earned
paid sick time” means the amount of pay the employee
has received as earned paid sick time or equivalent paid
time off to date in the current year. Where an employee
has received pay for equivalent paid time off for the pur-
poses enumerated in A.R.S. § 23-373 or other purposes,
the employer may count that pay towards the “amount of
pay the employee has received as earned paid sick time.”

6. “Authorized representative” means a person prescribed
by law to act on behalf of a party who files with the
Department a written instrument advising of the person’s
authority to act on behalf of the party.

7. “Casual Basis,” when applied to babysitting services,
means employment which is irregular or intermittent.

8. “Commission” means monetary compensation based on:
a. A percentage of total sales,
b. A percentage of sales in excess of a specified

amount,
c. A fixed allowance per unit, or
d. Some other formula the employer and employee

agree to as a measure of accomplishment.
9. “Communicable disease” has the meaning prescribed by

A.R.S. § 36-661.
10. “Complainant” means a person or organization filing an

administrative complaint under the Act.
11. “Department” means the Labor Department of the Indus-

trial Commission of Arizona or other authorized division
of the Industrial Commission as designated by the Indus-
trial Commission.

12. “Earned sick time” under A.R.S. § 23-364(G) means
earned paid sick time.

13. “Employee’s regular paycheck” means a regular payroll
record that is readily available to employees and contains
the information required by A.R.S. § 23-375(C), includ-
ing physical or electronic paychecks or paystubs.

14. “Equivalent paid time off” means paid time off provided
under a paid leave policy, such as a paid time off policy,
that makes available an amount of paid leave sufficient to
meet the accrual requirements of the Act that may be used
for the same purposes and under the same conditions as
earned paid sick time.

15. “Filing” means receipt of a report, document, instrument,
videotape, audiotape, or other written matter at an office
of the Department.

16. The term “heath care professional” in A.R.S. § 23-373(G)
has the same meaning as “health care professional,” as
defined in this Section.

17. “Health care professional” means any of the following:

a. A “physician” as defined by A.R.S. § 36-2351;
b. A “physician assistant” as defined by A.R.S. § 32-

2501;
c. A “registered nurse practitioner” as defined by

A.R.S. § 32- 1601.
d. A certified nurse midwife who is a registered nurse

practitioner approved by the Arizona State Board of
Nursing to provide primary care services during
pregnancy, childbirth, and the postpartum period;

e. A dentist licensed under A.R.S. Title 32, Chapter 11,
Article 2; or

f. A behavioral health provider practicing as:
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i. A psychologist licensed under A.R.S. Title 32,
Chapter 19.1;

ii. A clinical social worker licensed under A.R.S.
§ 32- 3293;

iii. A marriage and family therapist licensed under
A.R.S. § 32-3311; or

iv. A professional counselor licensed under A.R.S.
§ 32- 3301.

18. “Health care provider” has the meaning prescribed by
A.R.S. § 36-661.

19. “Hours worked” means all hours for which an employee
covered under the Act is employed and required to give to
the employer, including all time during which an
employee is on duty or at a prescribed work place and all
time the employee is suffered or permitted to work.

20. “Minimum wage” means the lowest rate of monetary com-
pensation required under the Act.

21. “Monetary compensation” means cash or its equivalent
due to an employee by reason of employment.

22. “On duty” means time spent working or waiting that the
employer controls and that the employee is not permitted
to use for the employee’s own purpose.

23. “Public benefits” has the same meaning as “state or local
public benefit,” as prescribed by A.R.S. § 1-502(I).

24. “Public health emergency” means a state of emergency
declared by the governor in which there is an occurrence
or imminent threat of an illness or health condition
caused by bioterrorism, an epidemic or pandemic disease
or a highly fatal infectious agent or biological toxin and
that poses a substantial risk of a significant number of
human fatalities or incidents of permanent or long-term
disability.

25. “Same hourly rate” means the following:
a. For employees paid on the basis of a single hourly

rate, “same hourly rate” shall be the hourly rate the
employee would have earned for the period of time
in which earned paid sick time or equivalent paid
time off is used, but shall in no case be less than
minimum wage.

b. For employees who are paid multiple hourly rates of
pay, “same hourly rate” shall be determined in the
following order of priority, but shall in no case be
less than minimum wage:
i. The hourly rate the employee would have

earned, if known, for each hour of earned paid
sick time or equivalent paid time off used.

ii. The weighted average of all hourly rates of pay
during the previous pay period.

c. For employees who are paid a salary, no additional
pay is due when the employee’s use of earned paid
sick time or equivalent paid time off results in no
reduction in the employee’s regular salary during the
pay period in which the earned paid sick time or
equivalent paid time off is used. “Same hourly rate”
for salaried employees shall be determined in the
following order of priority, but shall in no case be
less than minimum wage:
i. The wages an employee earns during each pay

period covered by the salary divided by the
number of hours agreed to be worked during
each pay period, if the number of hours to be
worked during each pay period was previously
established.

ii. The wages an employee earns during each
workweek covered by the salary in the current
year divided by 40 hours.

d. For employees paid on a commission, piece-rate, or
fee-for-service basis, “same hourly rate” shall be
determined in the following order of priority, but
shall in no case be less than minimum wage:
i. The hourly rate of pay previously agreed upon

by the employer and the employee as: (1) a
minimum hourly rate for work performed; or
(2) an hourly rate for payment of earned paid
sick time or equivalent paid time off.

ii. The wages that the employee would have been
paid, if known, for the period of time in which
earned paid sick time or equivalent paid time
off is used, divided by the number of hours of
earned paid sick time or equivalent paid time
off used.

iii. A reasonable estimation of the commission,
piece-rate, or fee-for-service compensation that
the employee would have been paid for the
period of time in which the earned paid sick
time or equivalent paid time off is used, divided
by the number of hours of earned paid sick time
or equivalent paid time off used.

iv. The hourly average of all commission, piece-
rate, or fee-for-service compensation that the
employee earned during the previous 90 days,
if the employee worked regularly during the
previous 90-day period, based on: (1) hours
that the employee actually worked; or (2) a 40-
hour workweek.

v. The hourly average of all commission, piece-
rate, or fee-for-service compensation that the
employee earned during the previous 365 days,
based on: (1) hours that the employee actually
worked; or (2) a 40-hour workweek.

e. “Same hourly rate” includes shift differentials and
premiums meant to compensate an employee for
work performed under differing conditions (such as
hazard pay or a shift differential for working at
night) if the employee would have been entitled to
the shift differential or premium for the period of
time in which earned paid sick time or equivalent
paid time off is used.

f. “Same hourly rate” does not include:
i. Additions to an employee’s base rate for over-

time or holiday pay;
ii. Subject to subsection (e), bonuses or other

types of incentive pay; and
iii. Tips or gifts.

26. “Smallest increment that the employer’s payroll system
uses to account for absences or use of other time” means
the smallest increment of time that an employer utilizes,
by policy or practice, to account for absences or use of
other paid time off.

27. “Tip” means a sum that a customer presents as a gift in rec-
ognition of some service performed, and includes gratu-
ities. The sum may be in the form of cash, amounts paid
by bank check or other negotiable instrument payable at
par, or amounts the employer transfers to the employee
under directions from a credit customer who designates
an amount to be added to a bill as a tip. Gifts in forms
other than cash or its equivalent as described in this defi-
nition, such as event tickets, passes, or merchandise, are
not tips.

28. “Violation” means a transgression of any statute or rule,
or any part of a statute or rule, including both acts and
omissions.
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29. “Willfully” means acting with actual knowledge of the
requirements of the Act or this Article, or acting with
reckless disregard of the requirements of the Act or this
Article.

30. “Workday” means any fixed period of 24 consecutive
hours.

31. “Workweek” means any fixed and regularly recurring
period of seven consecutive workdays.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1203. Duty to Provide Current Address
A. A complainant shall provide and keep the Labor Department

advised of the complainant’s current mailing address and tele-
phone number.

B. An employer under investigation by the Department shall pro-
vide and keep the Labor Department advised of the employer’s
current mailing address and telephone number.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1204. Forms Prescribed by the Department
Forms prescribed by the Department, including the poster required
under R20-5-1208, shall not be changed, amended, or otherwise
altered without the prior written approval of the Department.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1205. Determination of Employment Relationship
A. Determination of an employment relationship under the Act,

which includes whether an individual is an independent con-
tractor, shall be based upon the economic realities of the rela-
tionship. Consideration of whether an individual is
economically dependent on the employer for which the indi-
vidual performs work shall be determined by factors showing
dependence, which non-exclusive factors shall include those
factors identified in A.R.S. §§ 23-902(D) and 23-1601(B).

B. An individual who works for another person without any
express or implied compensation agreement is not an
employee under the Act. This may include an individual that
volunteers to work for civic, charitable, or humanitarian rea-
sons that are offered freely and without direct or implied pres-
sure or coercion from an employer, provided that the volunteer
is not otherwise employed by the employer to perform the
same type of services as those which the individual proposes
to volunteer.

C. An individual who works for another individual as a babysitter
on a casual basis and whose vocation is not babysitting, is not

an employee under the Act even if the individual performs
other household work not related to caring for the children,
provided the household work does not exceed 20% of the total
hours worked on the particular babysitting assignment.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1206. Payment of Minimum Wage; Commissions; Tips;
Front Loading Earned Paid Sick Time; Limitation on Carry
Over of Unused Earned Paid Sick Time
A. Subject to the requirements of the Act and this Article, no less

than the minimum wage shall be paid for all hours worked,
regardless of the frequency of payment and regardless of
whether the wage is paid on an hourly, salaried, commis-
sioned, piece rate, or any other basis.

B. If the combined wages of an employee are less than the applica-
ble minimum wage for a work week, the employer shall pay
monetary compensation already earned, and no less than the
difference between the amounts earned and the minimum wage
as required under the Act.

C. The workweek is the basis for determining an employee’s
hourly wage. Upon hire, an employer shall advise the
employee of the employee’s designated workweek. Once
established, an employer shall not change or manipulate an
employee’s workweek to evade the requirements of the Act.

D. In computing the minimum wage, an employer shall consider
only monetary compensation and shall count tips and commis-
sions in the workweek in which the tip or commission is
earned.

E. An employer is allowed to:
1. Require or permit employees to pool, share, or split tips;

and
2. Require an employee to report tips to the employer in

order to meet reporting requirements of this Article and
federal law.

F. An employer who hires an employee after the beginning of the
employer’s year is not required to provide additional earned
paid sick time or equivalent paid time off during that year if
the employer provides the employee for immediate use on the
employee’s ninetieth calendar day after commencing employ-
ment an amount of earned paid sick time or equivalent paid
time off that meets or exceeds the employer’s reasonable pro-
jection of the amount of earned paid sick time or equivalent
paid time off that the employee would have accrued from the
date of hire through the end of the employer’s year at a rate of
one hour for every 30 hours worked. If the amount of earned
paid sick time or equivalent paid time off provided is less than
the employee would have accrued based on hours actually
worked during the employer’s year, the employer shall imme-
diately provide an amount of earned paid sick time or equiva-
lent paid time off that reflects the difference between the
employer’s projection and the amount of earned paid sick time
or equivalent paid time off that the employee would have
accrued for hours actually worked in the year.

G. Subject to subsection (F), an employer with 15 or more
employees that provides its employees for immediate use at
the beginning of each year 40 or more hours of earned paid
sick time or 40 or more hours of equivalent paid time off is not
required to provide carryover or additional accrual.
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H. Subject to subsection (F), an employer with fewer than 15
employees that provides its employees for immediate use at
the beginning of each year 24 or more hours of earned paid
sick time or 24 or more hours of equivalent paid time off is not
required to provide carryover or additional accrual.

I. Unless an employer: (1) elects to pay an employee for unused
earned paid sick time or equivalent paid time off at the end of a
year pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-372(D)(4); or (2) meets the
requirements of subsections (G) or (H), unused earned paid
sick time and equivalent paid time off may be carried over to
the next year, as follows:
1. Subject to an employer’s entitlement to permit greater

carry over, an employee of an employer with 15 or more
employees may carry over to the following year up to 40
hours of unused earned paid sick time or equivalent paid
time off.

2. Subject to an employer’s entitlement to permit greater
carry over, an employee of an employer with fewer than
15 employees may carryover to the following year up to
24 hours of unused earned paid sick time or equivalent
paid time off.

3. Carry over shall not affect accrual, usage rights, or usage
limits under the Act.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1207. Tip Credit Toward Minimum Wage
A. In this Section, unless the context otherwise requires, “custom-

arily and regularly” means receiving tips on a consistent and
recurrent basis, the frequency of which may be greater than
occasional, but less than constant, and includes the occupa-
tions of waiter, waitress, bellhop, busboy, car wash attendant,
hairdresser, barber, valet, and service bartender.

B. For purposes of calculating the permissible credit for tips
under A.R.S. § 23-363(C), the following applies:
1. Tips are customarily and regularly received in the occu-

pation in which the employee is engaged;
2. Except as provided in R20-5-1206(E), the employee actu-

ally receives the tip free of employer control as to how
the employee uses the tip and the tip becomes the
employee’s property;

3. Employees who customarily and regularly receive tips
may pool, share, or split tips between them, and the
amount each employee actually retains is considered the
tip of the employee who retains it;

4. Employer-required sharing of tips with employees who
do not customarily and regularly receive tips in the occu-
pation in which the employee is engaged, including man-
agement or food preparers, are not credited toward that
employee’s minimum wage; and

5. A compulsory charge for service imposed on a customer
by an employer’s establishment are not credited toward
an employee’s minimum wage unless the employer actu-
ally distributes the charge to the employee in the pay
period in which the charge is earned.

C. Upon hiring or assigning an individual to a position that cus-
tomarily and regularly receives tips, an employer intending to
exercise a tip credit shall provide written notice to the
employee prior to exercising the tip credit. Thereafter, the

employer shall notify the employee in writing each pay period
of the amount per hour that the employer takes as a tip credit.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1208. Posting Requirements; Small Employer Exemp-
tion
A. With the exception of small employers, every employer sub-

ject to the Act shall place the posters prescribed by the Depart-
ment informing employees of their rights under the Act in a
conspicuous place in every establishment where employees
are employed and where notices to employees are customarily
placed. The employer shall ensure that the notices are not
removed, altered, defaced, or covered by other material.

B. In this Section, unless context otherwise requires, “small
employer” means a corporation, proprietorship, partnership,
joint venture, limited liability company, trust, or association
that has less than $500,000 in gross annual revenue.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1209. Records Availability
A. Each employer shall keep the records required under the Act

and this Article safe and accessible at the place or places of
employment, or at one or more established central recordkeep-
ing offices where the records are customarily maintained.
When the employer maintains the records at a central record-
keeping office other than in the place or places of employment,
the employer shall make the records available to the Depart-
ment within 72 hours following notice from the Department.

B. Employers shall make available to the Department any equip-
ment or technology that is necessary to facilitate inspection
and copying of the records.

C. Each employer required to maintain records under the Act
shall make enlargement, recomputation, or transcription of the
records and shall submit to the Department the records or
reports in a readable format upon the Department’s written
request.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1210. General Recordkeeping Requirements
A. Payroll records required to be kept under the Act include:

1. All time and earning cards or sheets on which are entered
the daily starting and stopping time of individual employ-
ees, or of separate work forces, or the amounts of work
accomplished by individual employees on a daily,



Supp. 17-4 Page 98 December 31, 2017

Title 20, Ch. 5 Arizona Administrative Code 20 A.A.C. 5

Industrial Commission of Arizona

weekly, or pay period basis (for example, units produced) 
when those amounts determine in whole or in part: (1) 
those employees’ pay period wages; and (2) those 
employees’ earned paid sick time or equivalent paid time 
off;

2. From their last effective date, all wage-rate tables or
schedules of the employer that provide the piece rates or
other rates used in computing wages; and

3. Records of additions to or deductions from wages paid
and records that support or corroborate the additions or
deductions.

B. Subject to A.R.S. § 23-381 and except as otherwise provided
in this Section, every employer shall maintain and preserve
payroll or other records containing the following information
and data with respect to each employee to whom the Act
applies:
1. Name in full, and on the same record, the employee’s

identifying symbol or number if it is used in place of the
employee’s name on any time, work, or payroll record;

2. Home address, including zip code;
3. Date of birth, if under 19;
4. Occupation in which employed;
5. Time of day and day of week on which the employee’s

workweek begins. If the employee is part of a workforce
or employed in or by an establishment all of whose work-
ers have a workweek beginning at the same time on the
same day, then a single notation of the time of the day and
beginning day of the workweek for the whole workforce
or establishment is permitted;

6. Regular hourly rate of pay for any workweek and an
explanation of the basis of pay by indicating the monetary
amount paid on a per hour, per day, per week, per piece,
commission on sales, or other basis, including the amount
and nature of each payment;

7. Hours worked each workday and total hours worked each
workweek;

8. Total daily or weekly straight-time wages due for hours
worked during the workday or workweek, exclusive of
premium overtime compensation;

9. Total premium pay for overtime hours and an explanation
of how the premium pay was calculated exclusive of
straight-time wages for overtime hours recorded under
subsection (B)(8) of this Section;

10. Total additions to or deductions from wages paid each
pay period including employee purchase orders or wage
assignments, including, for individual employee records,
the dates, amounts, and nature of the items that make up
the total additions and deductions;

11. Total wages paid each pay period;
12. Date of payment and the pay period covered by payment;
13. The amount of earned paid sick time available to the

employee;
14. The amount of earned paid sick time taken by the

employee to date in the year;
15. The amount of pay the employee has received as earned

paid sick time; and
16. The employee’s earned paid sick time balance. “The

employee’s earned paid sick time balance” means the
sum of earned paid sick time or equivalent paid time off
that is: (1) carried over to the current year; (2) accrued to
date in the current year; and (3) provided to date in the
current year pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-372(D)(4) or A.A.C.
R20-5-1206(F), (G), or (H).

C. For an employee who is compensated on a salary basis at a rate
that exceeds the minimum wage required under the Act and
who, under 29 CFR 541, is an exempt bona fide executive,

administrative, or professional employee, including an
employee employed in the capacity of academic administrative
personnel or teachers in elementary or secondary schools, or in
outside sales, an employer shall maintain and preserve:
1. Records containing the information and data required

under subsections (B)(1) through (B)(5), and (B)(11)
through (B)(16) of this Section; and

2. Records containing the basis on which wages are paid in
sufficient detail to permit a determination or calculation
of whether the salary received exceeds the minimum
wage required under the Act, including a record of the
hours upon which payment of the salary is based, whether
full time or part time.

D. With respect to employees working on fixed schedules, an
employer may maintain records showing instead of the hours
worked each day and each workweek as required under this
Section, the schedule of daily and weekly hours the employee
normally works, provided:
1. In weeks in which an employee adheres to this schedule,

the employer indicates by check mark, statement, or other
method, that the employee actually worked the hours; and

2. In weeks in which more or fewer than the scheduled
hours are worked, the employer records the number of
hours actually worked each day and each week.

E. With respect to an employee who customarily and regularly
receives tips, the employer shall ensure that the records
required under this Article include the following information:
1. A symbol, letter, or other notation placed on the pay

records identifying each employee whose wage is deter-
mined in part by tips;

2. Amount of tips the employee reports to the employer;
3. The hourly wage of each tipped employee after taking

into consideration the employee’s tips;
4. Hours worked each workday in any occupation in which

the employee does not receive tips, and total daily or week
straight-time payment made by the employer for the
hours;

5. Hours worked each workday in occupations in which the
employee receives tips and total daily or weekly straight-
time wages for the hours; and

6. Copy of the notice required under R20-5-1207(C).
F. An employer who makes retroactive payment of wages, volun-

tarily or involuntarily, shall record on the pay records, the
amount of the payment to each employee, the period covered
by the payment, and the date of payment.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1211. Administrative Complaints
A. A person or organization alleging a minimum wage, earned

paid sick time, or equivalent paid time off violation shall file a
complaint with the Labor Department within one year from the
date the wages, earned paid sick time, or equivalent paid time
off were due.

B. A person or organization alleging retaliation, discrimination,
or a violation of A.R.S. § 23-377 shall file a complaint with
the Labor Department within one year from the date the
alleged violation occurred or when the employee knew or
should have known of the alleged violation.
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C. The person or organization filing a complaint with the Labor
Department shall sign the complaint.

D. Any person or organization other than an affected employee
who files a complaint shall include the names of affected
employees.

E. Upon its own complaint, the Department may investigate vio-
lations under the Act.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1212. Conduct that Hinders Investigation
An employer hinders an investigation under the Act if the employer
engages in conduct, or causes another person to engage in conduct,
that delays or otherwise interferes with the Department’s investiga-
tion, including:

1. Obstructing or refusing to admit the Department to any
place of employment authorized under the Act;

2. Obstructing or refusing to permit interviews authorized
under the Act;

3. Failing to make, keep, or preserve records required under
the Act or this Article;

4. Failing to permit the review and copying of records
required under the Act and this Article; and

5. Falsifying any record required under the Act or this Arti-
cle.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1213. Findings and Order Issued by the Department
A. Except as provided in R20-5-1219, after receipt of a complaint

alleging a violation of the Act, the Department shall issue a
Findings and Order of its determination. The Department shall
send its Findings and Order to both the employer and the com-
plainant at their last known addresses served personally or by
regular first class mail. If the complaint named affected
employees, the Department may send a copy of its Findings
and Order to the affected employees.

B. If the Department determines that an employer has violated the
minimum wage, earned paid sick time, or equivalent paid time
off requirements, the Department shall order the employer to
pay the employee, and if applicable, affected employees, the
balance of the wages, earned paid sick time, or equivalent paid
time off owed, including interest at the legal rate and an addi-
tional amount equal to twice the underpaid wages, earned paid
sick time, or equivalent paid time off owed.

C. If the Department determines that a retaliation, discrimination,
confidentiality, or nondisclosure violation has occurred, the
Department shall direct the employer or other person to cease
and desist from the violation and may take action necessary to
remedy the violation, including:
1. Rehiring or reinstatement,
2. Reimbursement of lost wages and interest,
3. Payment of penalty to employees or affected employees as

provided for in the Act and this Article, and

4. Posting of notices to employees.
D. If the Department determines that no violation of the Act has

occurred the Department shall notify the parties and shall dis-
miss the complaint without prejudice. After notification of the
Department’s determination, the complainant may bring a civil
action under A.R.S. § 23- 364(E).

E. The Department may assess civil penalties for recordkeeping,
posting, and other violations under the Act and this Article as
part of a Findings and Order issued under subsection (A) or the
civil penalties and other violations may be assessed as a sepa-
rate Findings and Order. If issued as a separate Findings and
Order, the Department shall serve, personally or by regular
first class mail, the Findings and Order on the employer and, if
a complaint has been filed, the complainant.

F. The Director of the Department shall sign the written Findings
and Order issued by the Department.

G. If an employer does not comply with a Findings and Order
issued by the Department within 10 days following finality of
the Findings and Order, the Department may refer the matter to
a law enforcement officer.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1214. Review of Department Findings and Order;
Hearings; Issuance of Decision Upon Hearing
A. Except as provided in R20-5-1213(D), a party aggrieved by a

Findings and Order issued by the Department may request a
hearing by filing a written request for hearing with the Depart-
ment within 30 days after the Findings and Order is served
upon the party. Failure to timely file a request for hearing
means that the Findings and Order issued by the Department is
final and res judicata to all parties.

B. A request for hearing shall be in writing and contain:
1. The name and address of the party requesting the hearing,
2. The signature of the party or the party’s authorized repre-

sentative, and
3. A statement that a hearing is requested.

C. Upon receipt of a timely filed request for hearing, the Depart-
ment shall refer the matter to the Administrative Law Judge
Division of the Commission for hearing.

D. Except as otherwise provided in this Section, the hearing shall
be conducted under A.R.S. § 41-1061 et seq.

E. A person submitting correspondence or other documents,
including subpoena requests, to an administrative law judge
concerning a matter pending before the administrative law
judge, shall contemporaneously serve a copy of the correspon-
dence or other document upon all other parties, or if repre-
sented, the parties’ authorized representative.

F. The administrative law judge may dismiss a request for hear-
ing when it appears to the judge’s satisfaction that the parties
have resolved the disputed issue or issues.

G. The administrative law judge shall issue a written decision
upon hearing containing findings of fact and conclusions of
law no later than 30 days after the matter is submitted for deci-
sion. The decision shall be sent to the parties at their last
known addresses served personally or by regular first class
mail.

H. A decision issued under this Section is final when entered
unless a party files a request for rehearing or review as pro-
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vided in R20-5-1215 or commences an action in the Superior
Court as provided in R20-5-1216 and A.R.S. § 12-901 et seq.
The decision shall contain a statement explaining the review
rights of a party.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1215. Request for Rehearing or Review of Decision
Upon Hearing
A. A party may request rehearing or review of a decision issued

under R20-5-1214 by filing with the Administrative Law
Judge a written request for rehearing or review no later than 15
days after the written decision is served personally or by regu-
lar first class mail upon the parties.

B. A request for rehearing or review shall be based upon any of
the following causes that materially affected the rights of an
aggrieved party:
1. Irregularities in the hearing proceeding or any order, or

abuse of discretion that deprives a party seeking review
of a fair hearing;

2. Accident or surprise that could not have been prevented
by ordinary prudence;

3. Newly discovered material evidence that could not have
been discovered with reasonable diligence and produced
at the hearing;

4. Error in the admission or rejection of evidence, or errors
of law occurring at the hearing;

5. Bias or prejudice of the Department or administrative law
judge; and

6. The findings of fact or conclusions of law contained in
the decision are not justified by the evidence or are con-
trary to law.

C. A request for rehearing or review shall state the specific facts
and law in support of the request and shall specify the relief
sought by the request.

D. A party shall have 15 days from the date of the filing of a
request for rehearing or review to file a written response. Fail-
ure to respond shall not be deemed an admission against inter-
est.

E. The administrative law judge shall issue a decision upon
review no later than 30 days after receiving a request for
review or response, if one is filed.

F. A decision upon review is final unless a party seeks judicial
review as provided in R20-5-1216.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1216. Judicial Review of Decision Upon Hearing or
Decision Upon Review
A. A party aggrieved by a decision upon hearing issued under

R20-5-1214 or a decision upon review issued under R20-5-
1215 may seek review by commencing an action in the Supe-
rior Court as provided in A.R.S. § 12-901 et seq. within 35
days from the date a copy of the decision sought to be
reviewed is served personally or by regular first class mail
upon the party affected.

B. A decision upon hearing issued under R20-5-1214 or a deci-
sion upon review issued under R20-5-1215 is final unless a
party seeks judicial review as provided under A.R.S. § 12-901
et seq.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1217.  Assessment of Civil Penalties Under A.R.S. § 23-
364(F)
The Department may assess civil penalties for violations of the Act
and this Article, including the assessment of civil penalties for
engaging in conduct that hinders an investigation of the Department
as specified in R20-5-1212.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1218. Collection of Wages, Earned Paid Sick Time,
Equivalent Paid Time Off, or Penalty Payments Owed
A. Upon determination that wages, earned paid sick time, equiva-

lent paid time off, or penalty payments are due and unpaid to
any employee, the employee may, or the Department may on
behalf of an employee, obtain judgment and execution, gar-
nishment, attachment, or other available remedies for collec-
tion of unpaid wages and penalty payments established by a
final Findings and Order of the Department.

B. If payment cannot be made to the employee, the Department
shall receive monetary compensation or penalty payments on
behalf of the employee and transmit monies it receives as pay-
ment in a special state fund as provided in A.R.S. § 23-356(C).

C. The Department may amend a Findings and Order to conform
to the legal name of the business or the person who is the
defendant employer to a complaint under the Act, provided
service of the Findings and Order was made on the defendant
or the defendant’s agent. If a judgment has been entered on the
order, the Department may apply to the clerk of the superior
court to amend a judgment that has been issued under a final
order, provided service was made on the defendant or the
defendant’s agent.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 
effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4). Amended by 

final rulemaking at 23 A.A.R. 2907, effective October 3, 
2017 (Supp. 17-4).

R20-5-1219. Resolution of Disputes
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the Department may
mediate and conciliate a dispute between the parties.

Historical Note
New Section made by emergency rulemaking at 13 
A.A.R. 473, effective January 25, 2007 for 180 days 

(Supp. 07-1). Emergency renewed at 13 A.A.R. 2785, 
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effective July 17, 2007 for 180 days (Supp. 07-3). New 
Section made by final rulemaking at 13 A.A.R. 4315, 

effective January 13, 2008 (Supp. 07-4).

R20-5-1220. Small Employer Request for Exception to
Recordkeeping Requirements
A. In this Section, unless context otherwise requires, “small

employer” means a corporation, proprietorship, partnership,
joint venture, limited liability company, trust, or association
that has less than $500,000 in gross annual revenue.

B. A small employer, or any category of small employer that is
unreasonably burdened by the recordkeeping requirements of
the Act and this Article may file a written petition for excep-
tion with the Department requesting relief from certain record-
keeping requirements under this Article. The petition shall:
1. State the reasons for the request for relief;
2. State an alternate manner or method of making, keeping,

and preserving records that will enable the Department to
determine hours worked and wages paid; and

3. Include the signature of the employer or an authorized
representative of the employer.

C. Subject to any conditions or limitations necessary to ensure
fulfillment of the purpose and intent of Act, the Department
may grant a petition for exception if it finds that:
1. The small employer, or category of small employer is

unreasonably burdened by the recordkeeping require-
ments of the Act and this Article; and

2. The relief requested and alternative proposed will not
hinder the Department’s enforcement of the Act and this
Article.

D. For good cause, the Department may rescind a prior order
granting relief under this Section.

E. Relief under this Section is effective upon the Department’s
written authorization.




